The definitive history of our premises is elusive
and even parish records are inconclusive on the subject. The building
is listed and the officially described as "Post Medieval 1600-1699 AD". Among
its many unique features are a series of wood panels that have been
attributed to Dutch craftsmen (albeit painted in the Florentine style)
from either the late 16th or early 17th century.
Formation of the Club
The Club was founded in 1969 when after a great
deal of planning and hard work by a steering committee which formed
in February of that year, it opened its doors in December.
The premises which house the main bar, the committee room and the Churchill room were purchased in 1969. The main premises were renamed as "Cunnington House" in our Silver Jubilee year, as recognition of the outstanding contribution to the Club's formation and evolution made by Gordon Cunnington.
© Benfleet Conservative Club